It's Not Easy To Be Me

Ephialtes


Finally, the rain stopped. It’s been raining for several days.

I jumped out of my bed and did my morning stretches. I felt good to have the warmth of the sun rays touched my skin once again. After I made my bed, I went to the john and release a wicked piss.

Scratching my bare tummy as I stepped out of the can, I heard my mom’s voice asking me what I wanted for breakfast. I yawned and mumbled something I couldn’t remember. I headed to the kitchen and washed my face and brushed my teeth. In the middle of my routine, I heard my brother shouting, “He’s dead! He’s dead!”

I hurriedly rinse the foam in my mouth and asked my brother what was going on. He was frantic and kept chanting, “He’s dead! He’s dead!”

I looked for my mom but I couldn’t see her. I went out of the house and saw my neighbors gathered in the street. They were crying. I walked near them and asked what was going on. O told me that his son, N, was dead. I just froze. I couldn’t believe that N was gone. I just saw him last night.

In their midst, I stood immobile. I could see their anguished reactions but I couldn’t hear any of their wails. Then, suddenly, I saw N.

It was night time. N was walking somewhere in a commercial place surrounded by tall buildings. The street was abandoned as he opened the door of his car. Then, he stopped in his track as someone called his name. N turned around and apparently it was a friend of his whose face I couldn’t see.

Next thing I saw was N was standing outside a condo unit with him was his friend from the parking lot whose face I still couldn’t see  and two other guys whose faces were somewhat blurred. Before N could enter the unit, one the guys stabbed him with a knife. The two other guys grabbed him from both sides as the third guy continued to stab him. After 8 insertions, the guys fled leaving N on the floor bathing in his pool of blood.

I woke up shaken by the nightmare I just had. Cold sweat covered my forehead and I could still feel my cheeks were wet. I calmed myself down before I got out of the bed. I went out my bedroom and headed towards the kitchen to grab a glass of water. As I was drinking, I turned around and there was N covered in blood lifeless on the floor.

I opened my eyes and found myself still on my bed. It was Friday afternoon and the rain outside continue to downpour.

Creative Commons License
Ephialtes by S. Paguia is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at iamthesonofkrypton.wordpress.com/.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at iamthesonofkrypton.wordpress.com/contact.

FOLLOW ME

Follow me @iamthesonofkrypFollow me @iamthesonofkryptonFollow me @iamthesonofkrypton

Leave a Reply

